Cuba Facts

    Full name: Republic of Cuba

    Capital: Havana

    Location: 21 30 N, 80 00 W

    Head of State: President of the Council of State Fidel Castro

    Type of Government: Communist

    Currency: Cuban Peso

    Population: 11,308,764 (estimate as at July 2004)

    Language(s): Spanish, Castilian

    Suffrage / Age of consent: 16

    Main Religion: Catholic (47 percent)

    Land Area: 42,800 square miles (110,860 square kilometers)

    Number of Provinces: 14 (and 1 special municipality)

    Annual Rainfall: 1219.2 mm / 48 in

    Public Holidays:

    1 January: Liberation Day

    1 May: Labor Day

    25 – 27 July: Celebration of the National Rebellion / Revolution Day

    10 October: Day of Cuban Culture / Anniversary of the 1868 War of Independence

    25 December: Christmas Day

    Rainy Season: May – October

    Dry Season: November – April


    You May Also Like

    Cuba Infrastructure

    Cuba’s recent desire to attract tourist dollars has meant that it has needed to ...

    Cuba History

    Cuba was officially “discovered” by Christopher Columbus on 27 October 1492. However, this is ...


    Flag: Cuba’s flag comprises five (equal) horizontal bands of blue – alternating with white. ...